IMO STATE: List of newly sworn in Commissioners (2014)

Here’s the list of the seven new commissioners who were sworn in today.


Lady Nma Nzeribe Michael – Commissioner for Primary, Secondry Education & Non-Formal Sector.

Hon. Ikechukwu Njoku – Commissioner for Finance.

Lady Patience Mbakwe – Commissioner for Industry and Non-Formal Sector.

Barr Victor Amadi – Commissioner for Commerce and Market Development

Barr Obinna Mbata – Commissioner for Internal Resources and Pension Matters

Chief Chidi Ibe – Commissioner for Information

Hon. Clinton Obiyor- Commissioner for Public Utilities and Public Safety.

Governor Okorocha also swore in seven new local government caretaker committee chairmen. The Local Government Transition Committee Chairmen sworn-in were those of Owerri North, Owerri West, Owerri Municipal, Ahiazu Mbaise, Ohaji/Egbema, Oguta and Oru East Local Governments.

Addressing the new appointees, the Governor hinted that he has released N3 billion for the renovation of all the Headquarters of the local governments in the state, adding that the council secretariats were left over the years to rot.

He also informed that his administration would begin to renovate the old schools in the state he said had produced great men and women. He mentioned some of the schools as Government Technical College Owerri, Government College Owerri, Akwakuma girls school, and so on.

He said the rescue mission administration in the state will grow from strength to strength and that the appointees were in for serious business, because standard had already been set in their respective ministries and local governments and they should work to improve greatly on the existing standard.
The governor also told those in attendance at the event that the governorship aspirants in PDP in the state came out in their large number because they heard he would vie for the presidency, assuring that he would not abandon or leave Imo people.

He said his government would not rest on its oars until he was satisfied that every family in the state is free from ignorance and poverty, telling the new appointees that he had invited them to partner with him to make the state better.

The new commissioners and new local government caretaker committee chairmen were appointed to replace their predecessors who had left the government to pursue their political ambitions.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!