Details from the just concluded APC Inaugural Convention in Abuja.

DSC_0124The Eagle Square, Abuja on Friday 13th June 2014 witnessed a gathering of a political colossus from different parts of Nigeria, in the likes of the former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar, former Head of State, General Muhammed Buhari, the Chairman, All Progressives Congress (APC) Governors Forum, Owelle Rochas Okorocha, Rotimi Amaechi, Chief Fashola and other Progressive Governors, Chief Bisi Akande, Senator Chris Ngige, Chief Bola Tinubu, delegates from the 35 States of the federation and supporters of the All Progressive Congress who yearn for change of leadership in the country as they conduct the party’s inaugural convention to elect leaders of the Party.


However, the successful election of APC national management commitment was not without a price as party delegates where not deterred by the torrential and heavy down pour of rain but patiently waited to cast their votes and leaders emerged.
It was indeed an interplay democracy that saw Chief Odigie Oyegun from Edo State emerge as National Chairman of the party alongside other executives APC. Imo State was not left out as they had the National Organizing Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso and Deputy National Woman Leader, Chief (Mrs.) Augustina Adike.

Earlier, in a message while welcoming delegates of the APC from the 36 States and the Federal Capital to the Party’s inaugural Convention, the former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar urged leaders of the Party and all those with aspirations to put the interest of the party above their own personal ambitions, as well as respect the principals of fairness, equity and fair play.

Also speaking, Governor Rochas Okorocha noted that APC as a political party has made history as it started with 16 serving governors of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and expressed appreciation for the individual contributions made by the founding members of the party to ensure that the APC emerge a formidable political party.

The chairman of APC governors forum observed that the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has failed the nation hence the yearning for a change by Nigerians. He therefore assured Nigerians that APC is set to restore electricity, create jobs as well as address the issue of insecurity in the country. “I know I know that this party will not fail Nigerians; and this party must never fail” he stressed.

Some of the delegates from Imo state who spoke to the press expressed satisfaction with the outcome of the national congress and commended Governor Okorocha and the party leadership in the State for selecting people of proven integrity as delegates to the convention. They expressed conviction that Imo people will continue to support the APC and the masses oriented programmes of Governor Rochas Okorocha.

The Imo State team comprises the Deputy Governor, Prince Eze Madumere, Members of the House of Assembly, the Deputy Chief of Staff, Mr. Chinedu Offor, State party executives, the Commissioner for Education, Dr. (Mrs) Uche Ejiogu, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Chukwuma Machukwu Ume (SAN), the Commissioner for Lands Housing and Urban Planning, Chief Uche Nwosu among other members of the State Executive Council.

Unadike William C.
For: SSA Media
Government House Owerri



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!