APC and the Igbo nation – By Louis Kachi Igwilo

APC-LogoThe outcome of the just concluded All Progressives Congress national congress held at eagle square, Abuja last weekend has gone a long way to establish the place of the Igbo nation, and indeed some other Southern states in the minds of the average Nigerian Muslim, Northerner or Southerner. A look at the hierarchy of the newly formed opposition party speaks volumes to any Igbo Man who can read between the lines.

APC came out of three mega parties and splinter groups from some other parties. The mega parties were, The CPC, The ANPP and The ACN. The CPC group constituted of all the core fanatical Northern leaders including all the three governors whose states are the hotbed for the dreaded Boko Haram that has killed over 10,000 innocent Nigerians, that is Kashim Shettima (Gov. Borno state), Murtala Nyako (Adamawa State), Ibrahim Geidam (Yobe state). Also Kano state governor Mohammed Rabiu Kwankwaso is part of APC which accounts for why Lamido Sanusi emerged the new Emir of Kano. Gen. Buhari is another strong member of the APC likewise Atiku Abubakar. Speaker Tambuwal has been sitting on a fence, but his body language does not show he is not APC. Ali Modu Sherrif is another strong member of the APC. Other northern governors in APC include, Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara state), Aliu Wamako (Sokoto state),Abdul Azeez Abubakar Zamfara state) and Umaru Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa state).

From The south, we have the ACN. led by Asiwaju Ahmed Tinubu whose penchant for self-satisfaction is well known in Nigeria and the rest ACN. governors who sheepishly followed their leader, Tinubu. The governors include Babatunde Fashola (Lagos state), Kayode Fayemi ( Ekiti State), Isiaka Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo state), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun State), Rauf Aregbesola (Osun state) and Adams Oshiomhole (Edo state). Owelle Rochas Okorocha who led a splinter group of APGA members to join APC did not do it for the fun of it or for the interest of his state at heart. It is a known fact that he was only running away from APGA where nemesis has caught up with him due to his deal with Chief Martin Agbaso and other APGA chieftains that gave him the 2011 mandate. This deal snowballed into the sacking of his former deputy, Jude Agbaso on trumped up charges of bribery which has long been cleared by the EFCC. Chief Rotimi Amechi had fallen out with a section of his party, the PDP in Rivers state and when it became obvious that he had lost control of the party machinery, his last option was to pitch tent with APC, a party that will not have him in mind in 2015 not minding the state resources he has put into the party so far.

Aside these staunch men who midwifed the birth of APC, Chief Ogbonnaya Onu who has since lost his voice in Nigerian politics, and Senator Chris Nwabueze Ngige, who has been trailing along APC for survival, are some notable igbo men who found themselves in this strange bed. Consequently, it is certain and glaring that the APC formation does not take cognizance of the Igbo nation, neither does Ndi Igbo have interest in the affairs of APC. Rivers state is not left out as there are several Rivers indigene who unluckily found themselves in APC, not because they love the party, but because they have followed their governor to a point of no return and the only option is to escort him out of the government house.

The APC just concluded her maiden convention and the list of the newly ‘SELECTED’ national executive committee further buttresses her relationship and plans for the Igbo nation. The party did not give a hoot about Governor Amechi’s financial support to the party and his most vociferous antagonism to his kinsman, President Jonathan, while distributing national offices. Governor Amechi did not have the opportunity to nominate any principle officer. For Governor Rochas Okorocha, his much taunted Progressive governor’s forum chairmanship was infinitesimal and could not snowball into principle office nomination. The entire south east were told to bring a Deputy national Women leader who could help serve food during functions and then National Organizing secretary who will help secure and clean arenas for APC functions. That was all Owelle, Ogbonnaya Onu, Chris Ngige and Izunaso could come home with.

Chief John Oyegun from Edo state was nominated by Tinubu as the National chairman reason is because the Edo people are the closest to Oduduwa nation that can be trusted by Tinubu. Tom Ikimi and Sam Sam jaja were not worthy of trust by Tinubu. Alhaji Tijani Tumsah retained the secretary while Segun Oni, a core Yoruba was given the Deputy National Chairman, South. Lai Mohamed retained his position.

From the foregoing, I wonder why an Igbo son would even associate with APC as a party. Ndigbo have suffered severely in the Nigerian setting and will not afford to fall into the hands of those who see nothing good about the Igbo man. The only party that will continue to look the ways of the Igbo nation from the national level still remains PDP or when the time comes, a properly constituted opposition. The only alternative party for the Igbo nation at the moment still remains the APGA which is purely our blood, our thinking and our party.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!